Webinar: Tackling Methane Emissions for Climate

Thursday, January 27, 2022 | 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Virtual

January 27, 2022 | 4:00 pm – 5:30 pm (Pacific  Standard Time)

January 27, 2022 | 7:00 pm – 8:30 pm (Eastern Standard Time)

January 28, 2022 | 8:00 am – 9:30 am (China Standard Time)

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER.

This event will be simultaneously-translated into Mandarin Chinese. 

Methane is one of the most potent greenhouse gases, many times more potent than carbon dioxide. Meanwhile, it remains under-addressed in efforts to tackle global climate change from oil and gas production and agriculture sources. COP26 in Glasgow saw the launch of the new Methane Global Pledge, an agreement by signatories to reduce methane emissions 30% by 2030.

Further, the latest Joint Declaration on Climate between the United States and China also identified methane as a priority area for coordination between the two nations. In this event, we’ll hear from experts on the latest science and technology updates related to methane, as well as policy opportunities for moving forward. 

AGENDA

4:00 p.m.       Discussion opened by Moderator Louise Bedsworth, California-China Climate Institute 

4:05         The Latest Science and Technology Updates on Methane    

Gabrielle Dreyfus, Institute for Governance and Sustainable Development 

Riley Duren, Carbon Mapper 

4:25        Policy Updates and Developing Action Plans on Methane

Tomás Carbonell, Environmental Protection Agency 

Stefanie Rucker, Colorado Air Pollution Control Division

5:00          Open Discussion and Audience Q & A 

        Facilitated by Louise Bedsworth, California-China Climate Institute  

5:25         Closing Remarks