Webinar: Integrating Nature-based Solutions into Subnational Climate Policies

Examples from California and China

Thursday, June 09, 2022 | 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Virtual

June 9, 2022 | 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm (Pacific Time)
June 9, 2022 | 8:00 pm – 9:00 pm (Eastern Time)
June 10, 2022 | 8:00 am – 9:00 am (China Time)
 

REGISTER HERE. Registration is required but free.

We are currently facing two concurrent ecological crises: the urgent threat of climate change and rapidly accelerating biodiversity loss. Meanwhile, as subnational entities like California and Chinese provinces set mid-century decarbonization goals, an important strategic tool is largely missing: nature-based climate solutions (NbS). Nature-based solutions - such as reforestation, regenerative farming, and green infrastructure - are powerful tools which can confer both mitigation and adaptation co-benefits. Join us to hear our latest research calling for an integration of nature-based strategies into subnational climate policies, and outlining a framework to help advance this approach, along with cases of integrated NbS in practice.

 

AGENDA

5:00 PM        Discussion is opened by moderator, Michelle Passero, Director, Climate and  Nature-based Solutions, The Nature Conservancy

5:05 PM        A Strategy for Integrating Nature-Based Solutions into Climate Policy Planning          

  • Jessica Gordon, Climate Policy Fellow, California-China Climate Institute 

5:15 PM        Examples from the Field 

  • Karen Gaffney, Director of Strategic Planning and Communications, North Coast Resource Partnership
  • Ge Le, Climate Change and Energy Director, The Nature Conservancy,  China
  • Sydney ChamberlinProject Manager, Climate and Nature-based Solutions, The Nature Conservancy

5:45 PM       Open Discussion and Audience Q & A 

6:00 PM        Closing Remarks, Michelle Passero